FTA has a new look! Read more about our new brand rollout here >>
Improving and empowering state tax administration
Improving and empowering state tax administration
Resources

Communities

Hands typing on a computer.

Empowering the Communication of Best Practices and Knowledge

Registering for Communities

Industry, Academia, FTA Members

To subscribe to communities, log-in to the FTA Member Portal and select All Communities on the Communities menu.  From there you can manage all of your community preferences.

If you are interested in an community and do not see it on your available lists page, please contact us.

If you do not have a TaxAdmin.org account, you can request one at the FTA member portal.

Public and Members-Only Communities

FTA operates a number of communities for the benefit of members and select public groups.  All communities are moderated for appropriate use.  Communities are designed to allow for the communication and proliferation of best practices and knowledge among tax administration staff within defined subject areas.

FTA provides member-only communities on the following topics (public communities are indicated below).  The email address of the community is the list’s name @lists.taxadmin.org.  Full email addresses are listed below.

Open to Public

Industry, academia subject experts

Motor Fuel | mfuc@lists.taxadmin.org  (Requires FTA portal account and approval to join)

Modern Office: Businesswoman sitting at her desk working on a laptop computer.

Members-Only

Limited to member revenue/tax agency employees. You must be registered for a list to send a message.
Community / e-List
List Address
Notes
ACH Update
achupdate@lists.taxadmin.org
Alcohol
alcohol@lists@taxadmin.org
Audit
audit@lists.taxadmin.org
Collections
collections@lists.taxadmin.org
Communication Professionals
communications@lists.taxadmin.org
Customer Experience
cx@lists.taxadmin.org
e-File
efile@lists.taxadmin.org
e-Standards
standards@lists.taxadmin.org
Executive
executive@lists.taxadmin.org
(Requires approval to join, only open to commissioners/agency heads and select directors/deputies)
Fraud
fraud@lists.taxadmin.org
IRS Extract
irsextract@lists.taxadmin.org
Legal
legal@lists.taxadmin.org
Legislative
legislative@lists.taxadmin.org
Operations Leaders
operations@lists.taxadmin.org
(Requires approval to join)
Property Tax Administration
propertytax@lists.taxadmin.org
Research
research@lists.taxadmin.org
(Requires approval to join)
Safeguards
safeguards@lists.taxadmin.org
Taxpayer Advocates
taxpayeradvocates@lists.taxadmin.org
Technology
tech@lists.taxadmin.org
Tobacco
tobacco@lists.taxadmin.org
(Requires approval to join)
Young business woman showing information on laptop to businessman. Businesswoman explaining plan to businessman on computer. Colleagues working together in modern office.

Using the Communities

Sending a message

To send a message to an community, you may send an email from your registered email address (your TaxAdmin.org Username) to the list’s short name at the email address LISTNAME@lists.taxadmin.org.  Contact support@taxadmin.org if you experience any issues using the e-list system.

Accessing archived conversations

Previous e-list conversations from December 12, 2015 forward will be available via archive soon.  NOTE: You must be signed-in to view the community archive).

Contribute to the knowledge of others!

We hope that you will employ these communities as resources to answer your own questions about issues within other states, and contribute to the knowledge of others by participating freely in responding to questions from others. 

Please note: communities should not be used to exchange sensitive taxpayer information.

FTA (and the entire tax administration community) appreciates your participation. Please use this resource, as all will benefit!

Frequently Asked Questions

It will be very helpful to everyone if you (1) make your subject line as descriptive as possible; and (2) remember to include your name and agency at the end of the message. Otherwise, in some e-mail systems, it can be nearly impossible to figure out who sent the message. (Phone numbers are also helpful).

If you need assistance, please send a message to support@taxadmin.org for assistance.

Any state revenue/tax agency employee of an FTA Member with a www.taxadmin.org account may join the communities as outlined above. If you don’t have an account at www.taxadmin.org, email support@taxadmin.org.

Login to your Taxadmin.org account and manage your communities on your My Communities page.